tutaxo.blogg.se

Jet set radio free
Jet set radio free





Details of which were entirely lost on kids as young as us. Instead, they begin telling us about their new Nokias spouting details of their first mobile phone contract. Whether it was about our endlessly messy rooms, our aversion to all things homework or perhaps that our mother was expecting a child. Unsure as to what we were to be lectured about this time, we sat silently. She was very young and mostly filled her time drenching Magic Painting Books. I’m not entirely sure if my sister was present at the time.

jet set radio free

My parents, after grappling with their newfound mobile extensions, bring my siblings and me into the living room. Which is what makes what happened next so incredible. Life is simple and besides Gameboys, my friend’s PS1, some “educational” PC games and my parent’s first foray into monochrome mobile technology, videogames were generally seen as an extreme luxury, a time-waster and a pointless medium. It makes calls, and you can play Snake on it - that’s enough.

jet set radio free

My parents have recently acquired their first-ever set of mobile phones - a duo of Nokias - with which they struggle to understand fully. It’s quaint, quiet in the house and since the proliferation of the internet hadn’t fully inhabited every morsel of daily life, as it does now, we were markedly unoccupied. Each of us is two years apart from the other in age the oldest - 9 or 10 - and the youngest - 3 or 4. My little brother plays football in the garden, my sister doodles in the kitchen, while my older brother sits on the staircase playing Pokemon Blue on his Gameboy Colour.

jet set radio free

My siblings are dotted around our newly detached house. I’m sat rewatching a VHS recording of Superman for the umpteenth time on my 14" CRT television - either Bush or Phillips the details escape me. It’s midday, sometime in the early noughties.







Jet set radio free